Limoncello

by Denice
(Bellingham, WA, USA)

What brands of limoncello are gluten free?


Steve's response: Thanks Denice for the question. I am not 100% certain about limoncello or which brands are gluten free however, I did some research and here are two links from a celiac.com forum that discusses two specific brands - (Caravella and Villa-Massa):

http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/44254-caravella-limoncello/

http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/45906-villa-massa-limoncello/

According to the forums, it appears that most brands are generally gluten free but you should always verify with the manufacturer if you are not sure. Unfortunately I have no experience with limoncello so I can't confirm either way.

I did take a look at Caravella's website and from what I can see, their recipe is made from lemons and pure alcohol so I would assume it's gluten free.

Hope this helps.

Comments for Limoncello

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jul 24, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Grain Alcohol
by: Anonymous

Grain Alcohol is just ethanol, or another way to say alcohol. It does not mean it is from grains

Jul 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Limoncello
by: Ben

Generally speaking, Limoncello only contains a few ingredients: lemon zest, water, sugar and alcohol. The most common alcohol used, especially in commercial brands, is grain alcohol. I don't know if that means there's gluten in there but it holds out that possibility. You can pretty easily make limoncello at home using vodka though if you want to.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Gluten Free Alcohol Discussion Forum.